Prams aren’t what they used to be

Prams these days are huge things with fancy off-road wheels and things I don’t even understand. Often the kids face away from their parents so there’s no contact between the two; that always seems a bit of a shame to me. How can you talk to the child about what’s happening, so they learn new words and ideas, if you’re not facing each other?

When I was a child we had a cane pram like the one shown here. My sister used to take Janie up town in it, all wrapped up in a baby’s blanket. People would say “Oh, have you got a doll?” and pull back the blanket — to be greeted by a very calm bantam! I didn’t have a pet bantam but I do remember putting the cat into the pram. As I write this, I realise I have no idea what happened to that pram….

Do you have any memories of an old cane pram you’d like to share? We’d love to hear from you.

a pram

Posted on August 6, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Eleanor Bensemann

    There is a photo of me in a cane pram like this outside Christchurch Cathedral in early 1949.

  2. HI Eleanor, thanks for taking the time to comment. Did you grow up in Christchurch?

Leave a Reply

